What Are the Key Differences Between ISO 9001:2008 and ISO 9001:2015?

Written January 2019 | Katy Martin, Content Marketing Associate at Service Wire Company

ISO 9001 certification is the internationally recognized standard for quality management systems. This standard helps companies consistently provide high quality products that meet their consumers’ expectations while also fulfilling any regulatory requirements. Although certification is not a legal requirement, it demonstrates a company’s dedication to the continuous improvement in its processes and product quality.

All ISO standards are reviewed every five years; however, revisions are only made when the information isn’t relevant for the current marketplace. ISO 9001:2015 places a greater importance on risk and includes an updated structure compatible with other management system standards. Following is a breakdown of these key differences.

Chart showing the changes in the ISO 9001:2015 clauses compared to ISO 9001:2008

New and Expanded Clauses

The updated standard includes ten clauses. While the first three clauses have remained the same, clauses four through 10 now have the same structure as other ISO standards, known as the High-Level Structure. This revision makes it easier for organizations who use multiple management systems.  

The “New & Expanded” section in the chart shows how the clauses have been revised. “Management Responsibility” is broken into “Leadership” and “Planning,” and “Measurement, Analysis & Improvement” is now two separate sections.


Graphic representing the four-stage PDCA (plan, do, check, act) cycle and where each clause of ISO 9001:2015 falls in the cycle

The last seven clauses are now arranged according to the PDCA (Plan, Do, Check, Act) cycle. This continuous four-stage model is used to promote systematic improvement within organizations.

Risk-Based Thinking

ISO 9001:2015 encourages risk-based thinking to help companies identify unexpected circumstances, including how a company's inputs and outputs affect the production process. For example, a manufacturer must consider how its suppliers (inputs) and purchasers (outputs) affect its ability to do business. By regularly performing risk analysis, companies can determine weak points and opportunities.


ISO 9001:2015 focuses on inflection, allowing companies to improve processes, anticipate unforeseen circumstances, and maintain and improve product quality.

The revised standard includes:

  • Updated structure compatible with other ISO standards  
  • PDCA cycle, a continuous model focused on systematic improvement  
  • Increased prominence on risk-based thinking



Service Wire is ISO 9001:2015 certified across all operations and facilities, nationwide.  

Beyond ISO 9001:2015 standards, Service Wire uses risk analysis tools to make continuous improvements and generates quality reports for every order.

Learn more about these stringent quality testing procedures:


THHN vs. XHHW: What's the Difference?
by Lee Perry | November 2018

Are Your VFD Cables NFPA 79 Compliant?
by Lee Perry | September 2018







*Indicates Required Field



*Indicates Required Field

*Your Name:


*Phone Number (with Area Code):